Christina’s Journey: Phase 1

My journey began on November 15, 2013 with being diagnosed with cancer, Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.  My husband, David, and I had just been married for exactly 1 month and 3 days when this occurred.  I had just got promoted to a premier location with my telecommunications company and was going to the next level of my career.  When you hear the news that you have cancer your world suddenly stops.  I thought to myself first, am I dying! Second, how will I tell my family, friends, and my employees/co-workers?  So many questions flooded my mind, but I never questioned God about having cancer not one time.  My husband was by my side during the whole time the doctor was telling me the news and he was for sure my backbone and my everything.  Getting a diagnosis of a chronic illness should not be dealt with alone due to the severity of them.

When I was first diagnosed, I looked at it as a gift from God.   There is a reason why I have cancer and I know God will reveal to me one day.  I am the type of individual that will be successful at everything I do and I will always prevail.  In the beginning, I did not know want the world to know that I had cancer, because I did not want people to feel sorry for me or treat me differently.  I told my family, close friends, sorority sisters, and of course my employees.  I kept my illness very private at the time.  I did not want people to see me look or seem ill, because it was not who I was as an individual.  I did not make my “social media” announcement of my cancer until six months later and after all my treatments were completed.  In some way I felt liberated to tell the world of what was going on in my life because you never know who it may affect and who you may inspire through your struggle.

Leave a Reply

